Friday, July 16, 2010

The Michael Jordan of guys named Kornel

"(1) Continuity: Since 1987, seven coaches have won titles in the NBA: Jackson (11), Gregg Popovich (4), Pat Riley (3), Rudy Tomjanovich (2), Chuck Daly (2), Doc Rivers (1) and Larry Brown (1). Far as I can tell, only once in that span did a title team change coaches, and of course it involved PJ. Tim Floyd won 13 games following Jackson's departure from Chicago in '98. In fairness, Floyd was given everything Jackson had, except the good players (although Kornel David is widely considered the Michael Jordan of guys named Kornel)."
(July 1, 2010, Brian Kamenetzky, ESPN Los Angeles)

No comments:

Post a Comment